The Zephyr Project is governed by its member organizations as a Collaborative Project underneath the Linux Foundation, a 501(c)6 nonprofit organization providing a legal and administrative framework for the project as well as many services.

Members pay annual dues that are used for the administration of the project. Members also contribute personnel, time, and equipment to help satisfy the project’s needs, including those for infrastructure management, community management, public relations, and project advocacy. Specific roles and responsibilities are outlined below.

Governing Bodies

The project is composed of two governing groups: administrative and technical.

The administrative leaders meet in a Governing Board that approves the direction and initiatives for the project.

The technical leadership is comprised of subsystem maintainers. The Technical Steering Committee (TSC) functions as a bridge between these groups. The TSC appoints a chair who represents the interests of the TSC on the Governing Board and also works with the TSC to find solutions per the direction of Governing Board.

Governing Board
  • Choose policies
  • Articulate strategy
  • Provide guidance to the TSC
Technical Steering Committee (TSC)
  • Serves as the highest technical decision body consisting of project maintainers
  • Sets technical direction for the project
  • Coordinates cross-community collaboration

Each member organization provides an administrative representative to the project’s Governing Board, and a technical representative to the Technical Steering Committee.

In choosing maintainers from the community of project developers, the TSC evaluates the needs of the project as a whole and the subsystem or component, taking into account the active participation of the individual.

This results in a system of governance that relies on merit and trust as well as participation and transparency.

Committee & Working Group Member Representatives

Technical Steering Committee
  • Alberto Escolar Piedras (Oticon)
  • Anas Nashif (Intel)
  • Asger Munk Nielsen (Oticon)
  • Carles Cufi (Nordic Semiconductor)
  • David Brown (Linaro, Security Architect)
  • David Leach (NXP)
  • Ioannis Glaropoulos (Nordic Semiconductor)
  • Johan Hedberg (Intel)
  • Johann Fischer (Phytec)
  • Kumar Gala (Linaro)
  • Mark Grosen (Texas Instruments)
  • Maureen Helm (NXP, TSC Chair)
  • Michael Gielda (Antmicro)
  • Michael Scott (
  • Nate Graff (SiFive)
  • Rasmus Abildgren (Bose Corporation)
  • Ruud Derwig (Synopsys)
  • Stefan Mijovic (Sivantos)
Security Committee
  • David Brown (Linaro, Security Architect)
  • Flavio Ceolin (Intel, Security WG Chair)
  • Inaky Perez-Gonzalez (Intel)
  • Kate Stewart (The Linux Foundation)
  • Ruud Derwig (Synopsys)
Marketing Working Group
  • Bjarne Kielsholm-Ribalaygua (Oticon)
  • Chris Miller (Bose Corporation)
  • Ebba Simpson (Linaro)
  • Jeff Mulhausen (SiFive)
  • Long Lu (Northeastern University)
  • Mark Merizan (Intel, MWG Chair)
  • Megan Hansen (NXP)
  • Michael Gielda (Antmicro)
  • Pål Kastnes (Nordic Semiconductor)
  • Phil Brownfield (Synopsys)
  • Timothy D. Webster (Vancouver Hackspace Society)
  • Trina Watt (
  • Uwe Rass (Sivantos)
  • Yannis Damigos (ICCS)
  • Yonghua Li (Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications)

The TSC meeting has an open attendance policy and publishes meeting minutes to the TSC mailing list: see the Group meetings wiki page for more information.

Roles and Responsibilities

Administrative governance includes oversight as well as the provision of services to the project, usually in the form of sub-groups underneath the Governing Board. These can be created at any time and consist of member representatives designated for specific administrative tasks.

Administrative Leaders

Current administrative sub-groups and roles include:

Members of these sub-groups direct activities within those categories, often with service providers. Linux Foundation currently provides some servers and systems administration advocacy and infrastructure to the Zephyr Project. Other roles are filled by members.

Technical Steering Committee
  • Organized intentionally with no single leader communications
  • Communications administered by the Community Manager
  • Administration of project finances
  • Headed by a Finance Administrator or Treasurer
  • Servers and systems administration
  • Headed by a Systems Administrator
  • Public relations, website, training and materials management & other outreach activities
  • Headed by a Lead Advocate
  • Management and coordination of community activities and forums, direct outreach, and liaison among other groups
  • Headed by Community Manager
Technical Leaders

Technical leadership also includes administrative roles defined by the needs of the project. Current technical roles include:

Chief Architect

Responsible for directing technical tasks within the project and managing the other roles


Responsible for bug triage and managing technical tasks related to specific components

Program/Project Manager

Responsible for schedules, chairing technical meetings, and resolving conflicts within the technical development of the project

Release Manager

Responsible for handling the release process

Copyright & Trademarks

The Zephyr Project is an open source project formed in 2015 to manage the Zephyr kernel, its subsystems and core components, and its tool chain and development tools. In reference to the project, it is preferred to use the entire name “Zephyr Project” to distinguish it from the Zephyr kernel. Derivative operating systems are expected to have their own names.

Zephyr™ Project and the Zephyr Project logo are trademarks of the Linux Foundation. Other names and brands may be claimed as the property of others.

Export Compliance

By downloading the Zephyr Project, upstream source used to generate features or components, or any binaries generated by the Zephyr Project, you acknowledge that you understand all of the following:

The Zephyr Project, its component parts and technical information may be subject to the U.S. Export Administration Regulations (the “EAR”) and other U.S. and foreign laws and may not be exported, re-exported or transferred

(a) to any country listed in Country Group E:1 in Supplement No. 1 to part 740 of the EAR (currently, Iran, North Korea, Sudan & Syria);

(b) to any prohibited destination or to any end user who has been prohibited from participating in U.S. export transactions by any federal agency of the U.S. government; or

(c) for use in connection with the design, development or production of nuclear, chemical or biological weapons, or rocket systems, space launch vehicles, or sounding rockets, or unmanned air vehicle systems.

You may not download the Zephyr Project, its component parts and technical information if you are located in one of these countries or otherwise subject to these restrictions. You may not provide the Zephyr Project, its component parts and technical information to individuals or entities located in one of these countries or otherwise subject to these restrictions. You are also responsible for compliance with foreign law requirements applicable to the import, export and use of The Zephyr Project, its component parts and technical information.

The Zephyr Project is covered under a TSU exception. Its ECCN is 5D002TSU.